half caff

Remember, a few months ago, when I gave up caffeine cold turkey? You might recall those weeks back in August where my personality dried up completely… those lovely times I couldn’t hold a conversation with you, but reverted to a cavegirl…grunting mono syllables and making menacing grimaces at everyone? Yeah. Good times.

Well, did you see how Starbucks stocks shot up in profits last month?!
Just doing my part for the economy…
(You’re welcome.)

So, why am I back on the sauce, after enduring such painful withdrawal symptoms and successfully going off coffee?
Because it was a success! The Doctor said to go completely off all forms of stimulants to give my body time to heal, and I was so desperate for health I would do anything that Dr. said! (obviously) Four months later and now my adrenal glands are slowly healing, my thyroid is functioning better and the daily cocktail of expensive vitamins, minerals and herbal treatments are having their effect. It feels so good to have strength and energy on MY OWN, finally. I no longer have to prop myself up hourly with caffeine stimulants in order to simply function and it feels great. Now? Now, I can just enjoy coffee for what I have always believed it is:
A gift from God. Liquid pleasure created by a Father who loves us, and often pours out blessings in the form of little dark berries from South America. Did you know coffee is full of antioxidants? There’s proof of blessing, right there.

So, now I am enjoying immensely my 1-2 cups a day. It feels wonderfully freeing to be enjoying coffee again but as a gift, and no longer abusing it as a drug.
I am still avoiding diet soda and having only tea in the afternoons because excess caffeine is clearly really hard on our bodies. So I limit my caffeine purposefully, in order to make room in my life for a mug or two of French Roast.
The long drought is over!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in me me me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to half caff

  1. Brian says:

    Welcome back caveBrenda! I'm enjoying a coffee right now typing this response.

  2. Neil Johnston says:

    Yes… but how BIG are your 'cups?' :)I have some 'just the right size' mugs for you. After Christmas Mug season is over, we'll get them to you! I knew we were just keeping them temporarily so that they would stay in the family! Those 'children' look great in your kitchen…I'll take an Americano with 5 raw sugars and some cream… 🙂

Leave a Reply

