black painted doors and other changes…

I tend to do things “since I’m at it”. It’s a snowball effect, and one small project can start a whole days worth of work. Chaotic at the time, but effective! For example, last Wednesday I had the white semi-gloss out to paint the pantry, so I decided to paint the foyer cubbies (they were disgustingly grubby). Then I noticed how dirty the white interior front door looked. I scrub it regularly and decided white wasn’t working well, So I decided to paint it black. Then that looked so much better, I decided to paint the bathroom door black, also. Oh yeah, and while I have the roller out, lets just do all the bedroom doors, then they’ll match…might as well do both sides…
That’s why, at 4 pm last Wednesday, I was still in my hot pink pajama pants with a stained paint covered t-shirt,  my unwashed hair piled up in a red bandana and no makeup on. I looked awful but wow-the house is sure coming along nicely!
 
 
 The doors were a bit of a risk, because I know matte black isn’t a traditional interior color. Lee was here, working on the pantry shelves and was very kind, and didn’t comment on my choice (though when he complimented them the next day, he sweetly admitted he had wondered at first just what I was thinking!?) The boys were threatening to call their Dad and report me but I assured them “Your Dad and I have an understanding, when it comes to the house decor. So just chill out… and put that phone down.”
But I admit to being a tad nervous, too.  Here are a few of the thoughts (you may refer to them as justifications) I had, as I rolled on that dark paint:

 1. These are hollow core, cheap, dull brown doors from the 1970s, with 5 plus years of little boy smears on ’em.  I can’t really make them look worse.

  2. Black paint is a classic. I have believed for years that it makes second hand furniture instantly chic. It also causes unimpressive items to recede into the background, so if the doors don’t look chic-well, at least they will “disappear” visually?
 
3. If John hates it, maybe he’ll pony up for new doors!
 
4. Black covers old stains and makes new ones almost impossible to see, and I have three boys. This is like a no-brainer.
 
 Here is the front door, Before and After:

 

 
 
 I love how the doors turned out and John (after going an hour without EVEN NOTICING that five doors were now solid black) agreed they looked better. (ha ha, kids-I win!)
 
Next on our little changes I enjoy tour– the kitchen window-
 
Here, you can see, how the water heater outside kind of sticks up, into the kitchen window view. I was so happy to have it out there that the visual obstruction didn’t even bother me. When I showed it to Claudia she was quickly reassuring. “Oh you are so clever, you’ll come up with something cute to cover that right up!” and I (not as clever as she believes) had a “Doh! moment. “Huh! Yeah, I could cover it…!”
So I found this vintage needlework in my stash, and ran a simple seam across the top with the sewing machine. Since I had a little tension rod already, this fix up cost us nada dinero. And Claudia is impressed with me, again.
Whew! My rep as a clever decorator was almost lost!
About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating, home improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to black painted doors and other changes…

  1. sonorafiiojudd says:

    I think the indoor black doors look tres chic, particularly because the walls are white. Nice design idea — sophisticated color palette, yet ooh so practical!

  2. Susan says:

    The doors look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

