burlap with vinyl quote, a picture re-make

I found a vinyl rub-on at the local craft store that had a wonderful reminder about the importance of Hope. (Bonus: it was only $5) I wasn’t willing to pay another $20 for the framing though, and came up with a little trash to treasure remake from a thrift store bargain.

(For those of you not interested in home decor, I added a sweet boy to the photo. Thanks to my Sam-o-rama, for modeling. You see how thrilled he is about Mom’s project? Not so much. But those big , gorgeous eyes of his? I will be fighting the girls off our doorstep, soon! Well, no probably not. My desire for more children is slowly morphing into a desire for GRANDchildren. So I will probably be trying to marry these boys as quickly as possible, to the first wide-hipped girl they bring home…)

I bought this frame at the Goodwill because it was half off of the already-low-price of $3.99. Just two bucks for a white, solid wood frame I didn’t even have to spraypaint, plus a thick double mat? Sold. The silly whales picture will have to go, however. This is going to hang in our master bathroom, for morning inspiration. The room where the wicked digital scale resides. I have enough issues, without frolicking whales of the Pacific, mocking my diligent efforts to keep myself under 300 pounds…

So I covered the whales with burlap, my new BFF. Only it isn’t even REAL burlap, it is a piece of scrapbook paper made to look like burlap. (Even easier, and cheaper, if possible. Because burlap is like 53 cents a yard)  I put it back together and applied the vinyl cling to the actual front, right onto the glass front.

the camera didn’t capture it well, there is a little flash there. But trust me, it looks good-adds just a little class to the commode, if you will.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in creative pursuits, decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to burlap with vinyl quote, a picture re-make

  1. Kate says:

    I love this! I but lots of frames like that from my Goodwill but never thought about vinyal cling!!
    Thanks!

  2. Michelle says:

    Love finding frames at Goodwill will remember this idea…I bet I have that paper somewhere!

  3. Cheryl says:

    love your poject. I wouldn’t of even known it was scrapbook paper if you hadn’t mentoined it.

Leave a Reply

