clueless

Sometimes, I am a little slow on the uptake. A few bricks short of a load. Four fries short of a happy meal, if you will. A recent example:

We go to the URM about once a month. It is a Restaurant Supply Store where you can get DaVinci or Torani syrups for your coffee (and I’m back on the sauce, ya know). You can also buy cans of food that are the size of small farm silos, which are helpful in feeding adolescent, hollow-legged boys. So we are there, perusing the aisles and I see a stainless steel sheet pan. Vicki taught a few of us how to make Baklava, and gifted us each a stainless steel jelly roll pan, from the URM. Now I love this pan and use it all the time-rolls, cookies, small pizzas…ironically, not once for a jelly roll cake. So when I see the Mother of all pans, just like my favorite pan IF IT WAS ON STEROIDS and it was under $20? I immediately bought it-look! I can do ALL my Christmas baking in ONE SHOT. Woo Hoo!

My first clue to the problem should have been when I got home and THE PAN DIDN”T FIT IN ANY CUPBOARD.  I didn’t think anything of it, just tucked it into the coat closet.

Then I filled the pan with saltine crackers for Toffee Bars (it’s a delicious Christmas candy that happens to have Saltines for its base. So don’t mock it as WT until you’ve tasted it!) and the pan held the ENTIRE box of Krispy premium, all 4 sleeves of crackers. I still didn’t think of a problem.

I cook the Toffee Sauce and pour it all over the pan, and go to slide it in the oven. and I can’t shut the door:

It doesn’t fit, of course. It’s huge! I start laughing at my stupid self and John comes over, looks and grins and says “It’s okay, honey. I’ve done some stu…um…silly…things myself!” and I think

“Well, it’s alright. I will just give this pan to my good friend Alisa, who has eight children…she’ll get a lot of use out of this pan!

Oh wait, SHE doesn’t have a restaurant sized oven, either…”

Here is Sam, holding the pan up so you can see HOW BIG IT REALLY IS:

All is not lost however, you just have to think outside the box…We’re going to take it up to the mountains. We can get the whole family on this sled!!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in holidays, so silly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

