unto us, a Son is given

“Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which shall be to all people.

For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.”

Luke 2:10, 11

No gift you receive today could be better than that first gift. Don’t forget that this sweet baby was more than just a man, He was also God. His entire life was dedicated to one end– dying a gruesome death, making the sacrifice that would take our punishment upon Himself, so that we could be set free from the shackles of death and sin. In only ONE way is this gift is like the brightly wrapped packages you are handed this Christmas morning…

It has to be received, accepted by you, personally. If you are given a brand new car? But leave it in the garage, never transfer the title to claim ownership, never drive it, or enjoy it-is it yours? No. Christ’s blood is enough to wipe every sin from your life, grant you total forgiveness and give you an eternity in heaven but it is only applied by your choice. You want to live your own life, justify sin as “some poor decisions”, gamble with not knowing what will happen to your soul that second after your very last breath? God gave you free will to do just that.  He will allow you to have whichever you choose… there is a way that seems right to man, but it leads to death. You have eternity written on your heart. A part of you knows that there is more to life than what you see with your eyes. God loves you so much that He gave His only Son, that ANYONE who believes in Jesus would not perish but have eternal life. All it takes is a prayer. A little conversation between you and God that looks something like this:

God, I know I’m a sinner and You are holy.  I believe You love me and because of that love, You provided a way for me to be made clean. You knew I couldn’t do it on my own. I believe Jesus was Your Son, and that His death on that cross was in place of the punishment I deserved and I accept that amazing gift. Forgive me, change me, come into my life today.

Have you had a conversation with God like that? Today is a perfect day for it!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in deep thoughts, holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

