necklace board

a little “Trash to Treasure” project. I have been wearing necklaces more and more…a new habit, as years of babies and toddlers, pulling,  kept me from baubles for a good decade. Now that I am (sadly) unencumbered, I am playing “dressup” more and more. Where to put them, so they don’t get all tangled and messy?

Found this frame at the thrift shop for only $1.99, because all the glass was broken out. I bought a white piece of foam board at the craft store for $2.49, and after popping out the red tulips picture, I cut it with an exact-o knife to fit. Then I dug through my scrapbook paper for a muted floral, in a tan that went with our bedroom walls. I didn’t want any color competing with the necklaces, but the white board was too blah! The most expensive part of the project was the little box of pearl seed pins that I put along the edge, to hang the necklaces from. That was $6.99, but you know I waited to get them until I had my Joanns 40% off coupon…(frugality, once stablished, is rarely shaken) I liked the display so much, I walked around “shopping the house” and gathering things to hang next to it on the big barren wall.

I got out the hammer and slowly added things until the arrangement was full! First, my earrings frame, so I can get all gussied up at once. Then, a favorite photo of John and I-just because the frame matched. From the hallway, I stole a cross I found at the Goodwill for $2 a few weeks ago. I was shopping with Claudia and said it looked familiar. She said “Um, yeah? Mabe because I gave you one just like it about 10 years ago?” and I said “Yeah! Where did THAT go?”  Too many moves, and too many decor changes are probably to blame. But when she said “I remember how bought one for all of you kids to have.” Oh boy, I snatched that cross up and said “Sorry! Lets just pretend this is it, and then you can forgive me for losing it?!” She laughed and agreed (that sweet woman loves me so, and wouldn’t ever hold a grudge over such a silly matter!) but I was glad to “replace” the long lost cross. Of course when I got home I walked around thinking “But where will I put it?!”  Perfect. I love it in here!

Then I hung a little wooden shelf. I remember (almost always!) where I get things and this was from a yardsale in Yakima, way back when I was carrying my baby Josiah around in a frontpack, looking for baby boy clothes. The lady who sold it said her father made it, looked at it with deep longing, and then said “how about a quarter?” What?!

I still feel like I stole it.

The big wooden shelf is about a hundred years old, and a gift from my Dad when I was about 12 years old. It hung in my room, this expensive and beautiful antique, next to magazine collages on poster board and posters of Ralph Macchio. For some odd reason I had a huge crush on The Karate Kid. When I saw the movie again, about a year or so ago, all I could think was Ewww, really?  haha!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to necklace board

  1. Alisa says:

    Wow! Looks Great! You have a gift!

Leave a Reply

