highlights of our cruise

ok! ok! Sheesh! I will go ahead and post something about our trip so you people will stop e-mailing and calling and hounding me. Just kidding, it’s nice to know we were missed! But I have been genuinely busy-came home from vacation and jumped right into REAL LIFE. Grocery shopping, cooking (almost forgot how!) errands and regular catch up type stuff. The most important was watching “Lost” before I heard from someone else what happened! 

Biggest job? LAUNDRY. we brought home 10 days worth of dirty clothes. On the airplane I read a magazine article about dust mites that freaked me out so the night we got home I stripped the beds of all the sheets and blankets for a fresh wash. Then Josiah had poison oak, so I am washing every fabric in sight, to get those contagious oils off and hopefully-not spreading. Then poor Caleb was up at 4 AM, sick. Vomit and diarrhea means adding rugs, towels, pajamas and more to Mt. Neverest.

So, see? Been busy! But here are a few pictures with the briefest of descriptions:the cabin steward folded our towels cute and my husband looks GOOD in a tuxedo.breakfast at the back of the ship-my favorite place.see? that wake that the engine leaves? i could stare at it all day.our cabin was an inside one, to save dinero-but the square footage was ample, and it had lots of storage. Can you tell I was taking most of the pictures? hope you like looking at John’ grinning face in 50% of the pics!this is the “Centrum”, the middle of the ship where most of the action was. It was on Deck 4 but you could look down from all the other levels. Our room was on Deck 8, i think that is where I took this.Our favorite hangout-after-dinner-and-wait-for-the-live-show-and-grin-at-each-other-like-newlyweds spot was here-the Schooner Bar. It’s decorated like an old ship, with beautiful art and, usually, live music. This picture doesn’t capture too well how HUGE the ship was, but you can see how beautiful the water is. Hard to believe that bright blue is still the Pacific when we are used to iur gray, stormy, cold ocean. Every day we traveled, it got warmer and warmer and it was strange and wonderful change climates and time zones so quickly! The first night it was too cold to stand on the deck after dinner-2 nights later it was a balmy 70 plus degrees AFTER the sun went down.

I’ll post about each excursion seperately, in lovely little installments that you can linger over, or skip entirely, if other peoples vacations bore you into a coma…

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in outings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to highlights of our cruise

  1. Sherri says:

    I am so happy to hear that you guys had a great time! I can’t wait to hear about it in your future logs!

  2. kippi says:

    Glad you had a good time and boy, you gotta quit reading those magazine things. Who wants to do extra laundry! 🙂 Hope everyone else is staying well and happy settling back in

  3. Anne says:

    Yeah! Finally a post (not that I should talk)! I can’t wait to see all 215 pictures! Maybe Brian and I will someday have enough money AND the kids will be old enough to go on a cruise! It looks like it was so fun. I feel like I wouldn’t even know what to do with myself without my children for 10 WHOLE DAYS! Wow. Glad you’re back.

  4. colbert family says:

    it all looks amazing! and i hear you on the magazine articles, I read one on bed bugs and proceeded to wash all linens in extra hot as well as bleaching the mattresses LOL cant wait to see more posts!!

  5. Alisa says:

    Awww, Wonderful! Can’t wait to hear more and see ALL the pictures!

Leave a Reply

