trying new things!

“Life longs to be grabbed by the lapels and told: I’m with ya, kid. Let’s go!” -Maya Angelou

I long for security, comfort and the ease of the familiar. But how quickly that morphs into dullness, and stagnant boredom!

I enjoy a good challenge, that rush of adrenaline and novelty but it always comes linked up tight with its companions: stretching, anxiety, risk of failure.

Balance is key. Lately, I feel my life swing gently between the two and I am content…

Happily secure in:

1. 20 years with that strong, steady John.

2. This warm home, with its familiar walls and comforting rhythms.

3. old friendships, full to the brim with grace for faults and shared memories of the past.

4. God’s Word, and the way it reflects His nature-solid, unchanging, faithful to generations.

5. Living in my own skin, and feeling at home there: the peace of understanding my own particular weaknesses and strengths

Happily challenged by:

1. Homeschooling/training these boys through the next 7, (final) years of their childhood.

2. Boot Camp: working to the very limits of my endurance and then reaching down for “just a little bit more!”

3. New friendships: investing even when it feels like my life “has no room” for another friend, when I tend to neglect those I already have! But life is so short, and shouldn’t we each love all we can, for as long as we can, in whatever way we can—and trust God to multiply our time? oh. yes.

4. God’s Word. The way it challenges and convicts, fresh and new with every reading. When will I ever completely know this book? When will I ever be successful at giving it the attention and honor it deserves? Daily, I’m challenged!

5. Living in my own skin.  Learning to accept my own particular strengths and weaknesses.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in deep thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

