he doesn’t realize that I’m gifted…

I went to a leadership meeting Monday night, and after discussing strengths and weaknesses I realized it has been over 15 years since I took a “Spiritual Gifts” test. Lois Dillon sent me an online one, to re-take and just see how the Holy Spirit may be working in my life, today…

(and here it is, in case you are curious about your own gifts!?)

http://www.churchgrowth.org/analysis/intro.php

So, I ranked lowest on prophecy and administration. Neither was a surprise! I detest all paperwork/planning/organizing etc that comes with Admin tasks. and Prophecy? Well, unless it’s about the divinity of Jesus or the authority of Scripture, I rarely see anything as black and white. I tend to attract Prophets as friends though, and I see that as God making sure “iron sharpens iron”-they teach me to call it like it is and grow a backbone and I teach them to walk in anothers shoes and show compassion…it’s a win-win!

My #2 gifts were Exhortation (encouraging people-and oh yeah I love being a Barnabas) and Pastor/Shepherd.Which doesn’t mean I am called to preach (although John has heard me do it while reading the newspaper! haha) but just that God helps me glorify Him by being teaching His Word and being people-centered. The description says “you have a burden to see others grow and are protective of those under your care. You are a peace-maker and a diplomat-very tolerant of other peoples weaknesses and more relationship-oriented than task-oriented.” And if that doesn’t help you homeschool three boys? Nothing will…thanks again God, for giving each of us the abilities to do, just what You call us to do!

But my #1 gift is the same as it was years ago…off-the-charts in “Showing Mercy”. This explains why my tear ducts work overtime the older I get, because God has apparentlyly filled me up to my eyebrows in compassion, empathy and grace. It’s the most common gift, with 33% of laity having it, and I might long for something a little more interesting but sweet John says he’s grateful for this one…

So, last night the boys are sitting at the kitchen counter and see my test results lying there…and after hearing this commentary John and I were laughing practically until our tears rolled down because

 Caleb says “Mom scored highest on Showing Mercy?! are you kidding me?!”

And lowest on Prophecy? I don’t believe it. That should be highest from all the times she says

 now I predict that YOU are about to get a whoopin’…!”

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in so silly. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to he doesn’t realize that I’m gifted…

  1. Susan says:

    That is so funny. I love how we attract those who are opposite of us. Mercy is likely to be at the very bottom of my list. But exhortation and prophecy and teaching up higher. I’m much more black and white than I thought I was. As I see one of my girls being very black and white I am learning how much I can totally relate to that.

Leave a Reply

