a favorite poem

like all favorites, I post this one because the words ring deeply true, for me. Seeing the Creator’s fingerprints all over this earth quiets my heart, when it gets noisy with anxiety and rushing…

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s life may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief. I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

~Wendell Berry

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a favorite poem

  1. Claudia says:

    Thank you Brenda, I loved This !!

  2. Anne says:

    I almost feel like this is cheating! What about new elements added to your decorating? Antics of your boys? How are we to keep up with your life if you are not posting about “all things Brenda”? I’m awaiting a post about your new concrete stain – can’t wait to see how it turns out! Love you – talk soon!

Leave a Reply

