new bathroom color

It took a lot of primer to cover that red! But leave it to old Benjamin Moore.  I love that paint, but my budget often has my copying BM colors onto Walmart paint (which is not my fave. Yet it is better than Behr, which has the consistency of milk. Ralph Lauren is awful too, but Devine is perfect. Sherwin Williams always needs stirred for hours….hmmm.Paint much?) 

And so I was so excited to discover our local Habitat for Humanity ReStore (on oak Patch, off of 11th ave for you locals)  has it NEW for only $15 a gallon. B Moore donates it! If my memory is right, this is normally around $40 some bucks per can (and worth it-best paint around) Tommy’s Paint Pot will tint it for a small fee, too. I found this lovely color already tinted and all I know is it is #1085. So I called it Bisque but it needs something better. I like knowing the colors of my paint Years ago, my living room was Fainting Fawn. Did the fawn have low blood sugar? See a cousin as roadkill? What?!

So my bathroom wall paint came generic, but it needs a name that captures its delicate creaminess, its pale aloofness.

Brendas January Legs? Biscuit Undersides? Hobo Teeth? What?

The old color was “Paprika” by Devine. Can you believe, according to the Sharpie marker on the can (I always mark it) that it was way back in 2006 when I painted it red? I fondly recall that day…going to the paint store, looking for a calm neutral. Bisque, perhaps. Something, ANYTHING, to cover the murky blue sponge paint the previous owner had done. My hand full of calm, quiet paint swatches with names like “milktoast” and “bland”. All ready to lighten up the room. But then…I saw this red. “Paprika.” Spicy, but sweet. A kitchen name, sure, but the color designers never suspected one of their customers was wonky enough to slather this color all over a BATHroom. I had to have it. I bought it without doing a paint swatch, I was so in love. I shut the door and painted that night, fast and silent, and I didn’t let John see it until I was done. I even covered the slanted ceiling. John loved it! I could tell when he looked in, stared silently for a minute at the bloody walls and said “Well. It’s not the bathroom I use, anyway.”

My reasoning? You know there is no window in this tiny bath. The boys rush in there with any glow-in-the-dark toy because its such a cave. Even at noon in July? their cheap spaceman sticker will light up like a bonfire. So I thought-ok. let’s not fight it. Let’s go with cozy, deep, rich and warm. Red walls, black toile shower curtain, a soft candle on the counter…because you know wherever three boys are peeing 24/7 needs a lot of cozy ambience.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in home improvement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

