hold yer buns! Big Mac Salad.

When three out of four males in my home ASK for salad?

You know it is NO ORDINARY SALAD!

If you like Big Mac hamburgers from McDonalds? Then you will like this recipe.

 If you have watched Food Inc, and miss Big Mac burgers but your conscience won’t allow you access?

Then you will like this recipe.

If you don’t like Big Macs? Ummm….Have you ever had one?!

I hadn’t, until 2007. And let me tell you, after that first hesitant bite I started kicking myself for every wasted opportunity. Don’t let that kind of regret haunt you. It’s a torturous existence.

Brown your hamburger-I don’t know how much you need but a pound feeds 4 of us. When the meat is browned, lay a few slices of Kraft (when do I get my $$ from them? I marriedthe boy!) american cheese over it. However many you like-4 is enough, but if you like it extra cheesy, add more. It melts into the meat fast, stir it in. Josiah and I don’t love this type of cheese as much, but you need it, for it to taste like the one at MickeyDs.

One of the other key ingredients is dehydrated onions (Costcos are my fave) and then you add some hot water to perk those babies back up. Then mix them with your dead cow meat. Again, I don’t know a measurement for this-a 1/4 cup maybe? How much do you like onions?!

The cheese and onions are essential for that “processed, fast food, $2 heart attack, straight from the factory” taste you are going for.

Now mix up your “special sauce”

1 and 1/4 cup mayonnaise.

3 Tablespoons of catsup

3 tablespoons of dill pickle relish

1 tablespoon of vinegar

a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a dash of black pepper.

Stir that all up and put in the fridge to help the flavors blend, an hour is best, but we’ve eaten almost immedately and its still good.

Now to assemble you just add chopped ICEBURG lettuce to a big bowl…

 Note: save the arugula and mesclun mix for your foodie friends-we are all about authenticity with this replication, so don’t be all snobby and/or leave me comments about how little vitamins are actually in the tip of an iceburg. We gave up the sesame seed bun, and we will make no other compromises, today!!!

so, you put the lettuce down, then plop on some warm meaty onion mix. I don’t know how much! How hungry are you? Then plop some sauce on top, (you never hear the word ‘plop’ on the Food Network. Well, maybe. I bet Paula Deen says it) just as much as you like. I don’t know how much! How saucy are you feeling?

and…enjoy!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in lovin' from the oven. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hold yer buns! Big Mac Salad.

  1. Anne says:

    Yikes! I’ve never really enjoyed Big Macs or thousand island dressing, but I bet I’d try it if I was at your house. We missed you when we stopped by, but the soup you had made in the fridge was delicious! Thanks for always having so much food that we can always find a quick bite at your house. It reminds me of me grandmammy! {Ha, ha – we just called her Grandma, but she had the best stinkin’ noodles I’ve ever tasted, homemade, thin, egg noodles in her ever so yummy chicken noodle soup. I always enjoy a good bowl of soup thanks to her.} We hope you can come visit (maybe camp up here somewhere) soon.

Leave a Reply

