kitchen barstools makeover

I know that most of the posts have been about decorating, and furniture re-dos and those of you who read the blog for FAMILY updates are annoyed or bored or both but hey! It’s getting chilly outside! Spraypaint season is almost OVER and I have been rushing about getting my last hurrah! So, deal, already…

The barstools, before:

Fred Meyer special, 5 years old. Nothing wrong with them except the generic finish that doesn’t match anything else. I know. When did I start caring about stuff matching?! Eclectic is my thang! but too many wood finishes in one room starts to feel visually chaotic to me. I have maple cabinets, pine floors, cherry tabletop, that’s ENOUGH.

I originally wanted old, rustic and painted barstools from the start, but had not done it for fear the finish would get rubbed off and scratched up by our constant, daily abuse. These stools get the MOST use of any furniture in our home. There is almost always a boy on one of them, eating meals, doing school, chatting with Mom as she cooks. They get hauled into bedrooms to be used for forts, stepped on by me to reach high stuff and clean cobwebs in the skylight, brought into the living room for extra seating around the computer when we Netflix a video. So the boring wood finish at least hides marks, but I don’t like it! so, after 5 years and a new dining room set to inspire me, I started hearing the little voices in my head again:

 THEY MUST BE PAINTED. MUST PAINT. FIND PAINT. PAINT! PAINT! PAINT!

Maybe I am actually hooked on aerosol fumes, and all this decorating is a ruse for this Suburban Mom just getting her drug fix? 

The tops were decoupaged in order to satisfy my desire that everything in my house be one of a kind and unique to us. They were re-done three different times, to match three different kitchen color schemes. Mod podge makes things easy to scrub, too-a serious kitchen bonus.

I chose black, because I like black. and it matches the countertops. and it hides grubby kidmess better than white. and I had just re-done the black dining room chairs, and loved them white but now kind of missed the black. and I had black spraypaint already, and the voices were GETTING SO LOUD.

I sanded up the edges to bring out the detail, and to prepare them for the day that real use would rough ’em up.

I still might decoupage the tops, we’ll see. For now, they must stay inside and available, until everyone heals from the trauma. The 2 days they were out in the Shop being painted had boys scrambling like blind mice, unable to function, with wails of complaint rising up when comics and cereal had to be moved THREE FEET AWAY to the table!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to kitchen barstools makeover

  1. kelli says:

    OH my dear sweet sister… great minds really DO think alike… not only do I re-do or “res✞ore” my furniture in the SAME way that you do… but 2 weeks ago I did the SAME thing to our bar stools!! same color same sanding same EVERYTHING!!! Im stunted by being a renter and the landlord just does not understand me wanting to change up the whole house, add trimming, bead board, wainscoting, refinishing cabinets, adding a great buffet as a vanity in the bathrooms etc so I am left with furniture! I don’t know why I am always surprised that we are on the same page 🙂 but I LOVE that we are!

Leave a Reply

