my family.

I have a lot, did you know!?

My Dad is the oldest of five. I have two Aunts and three Uncles and numerous cousins, who have all married and had boatloads of kids. We don’t get together too often but when we do, oh man, the stories! My Dad’s family is big and tough and independent and we joke that we “put the fun back in the word dysfunction

I also have my Mom, and we are so alike at times it is scary. She gave me a terrific step-Dad named Gordon (by the way, Happy Anniversary today, you two lovebirds!) and my Aunt Cathy in Reno. I have two half sisters with six children born to them. There is Kelli and Sean up in Washington, and Chris and Cory down in California. When we first met they were 7 and 10 years old, and each of them lived with us for a bit as teenagers, so I still tend to think of them as my “little” sisters, despite the 20 plus years gone by…

and my own immediate family, created by this long steady marriage to sweet John and the creation of these three ornery boys that we keep trying to raise into men. This is the family that consumes my present mind, heart, energies and the majority of the scrapbooks and blog posts. A little house and a big heart, full to bursting with my present day family, and I wouldn’t want it any other way…

and with the original creation of that family, came the addition John’s family. How blessed I am by what I joke is “the Norman Rockwell yin to my family’s crazy yang”. How I appreciate his sweet Dad, Lee, who has always cared for me, and loves in ways that are sacrificial. Blessed too by Claudia, (who no one can tell me, isn’t real family!) and by John’s sister Sherri–she who continually steps out of her (naturally reserved!) personality in order to show her affection and care for us, and for her nephews.

For Claudia’s sisters and their families, who every Thanksgiving take us in as their own. Especially for John and Tara. I am still amazed that despite being a “blended” family, that any one of us who would do anything to help the others. Then, too are extended family in Yakima and beyond. If I started listing all of John’s Aunts and Uncles and cousins that mean so much to me? Well gosh, we’d be here all day…!

and the family of God? Well that is another post, all about the sisters and brothers I have been given, in Christ. Family who have understood me, supported me, taught me truth and loved me deeply. Even though occasionally we have hurt each other, and then forgiven each other with tears, as siblings tend to do!

But what I grew up with…

My first definition of FAMILY, was these:

just two.

My Dad, about 17 years older than me, my brother just 14 months younger.

Nothing stayed. Houses changed. Jobs changed. Schools changed.

Moms changed. Girlfriends changed. Housekeepers changed. Siblings changed.

What remained? This Dad. This brother.

My family.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my family.

  1. Brian says:

    At first I was a bit miffed at being left out of the “family” story… then I scrolled down.

    How did I go from such a cute kid to such a goofy looking adult?

    Caitlin sure looks mischevious. It was great having you guys here!

  2. kelli says:

    This is beautiful! Oh for a perfect world of getting to grow up along aside you and Brian.. that would have been fantastic! I will say my favorite grow up memories were from the time I lived with you. that’s not just me trying to say something nice.. it is to say those are my “home” memories. so feel free to always see me as a “little sister” because that is what I am 🙂 I love you and I am so thankful you were brave enough and generous to let me live with you (even if that did mean rubbing feet for ice cream.. come to think of it perhaps that is why i cant stand people touching my feet 😉 HA! seriously… you gave me a home, you filled me up with love and wisdom YOU brought me to Jesus and laid me at His feet, you showed me what it was like to have a relationship with Him and how to turn to HIm even when we cant see what is happening. what better gift could you have ever given to me? I saw the up’s the down’s the happy the sad the frustrations but most importantly in all the REAL LIFE I saw that people really can stay together and fight to keep Jesus center, I saw that in HIM nothing is impossible and that He is faithful… on and on and on I don’t know if you will ever fully understand all that you and John gave to me but I do know that our Father has quite a few jewels for that crown when we meet Him 🙂
    Here is to always being wanted adored treasured protected covered carried delighted in and sung over by our Father 🙂

Leave a Reply

