corners of our home, at Christmas

Here you go Mom, and Anne! 🙂

the tree skirt is always askew because Zuzu the cat (named for the little girl in the BEST Christmas movie ever, as you may know) is always underneath there, batting at the ornaments…

John bought me three big presents to put above the kitchen window!  We were at BiMart just getting a few replacement bulbs for the outdoor strands and when he saw how excited I was about these, he put them in the cart. I’m spoiled, I tell ya!

a big part of our holiday decor are photos from 20 plus years of our family Christmases. I collect silver frames from thrift stores throughout the year to try and keep the mismatched sizes/colors of the pictures, somewhat cohesive!

the browns and golds of our living room don’t really  clash “too” much with the red, right? Okay–It might, but I don’t care-Christmas is for red and green, by golly!! I am looking for a red and green Christmas quilt to hang there but am not desperate enough (yet) to sew one!

Caleb’s contribution is the Lego Winter Cottage and he sets up a little “snowball fight” for the mini-figs. Brian and Anne helped us score the 2nd part of this collection from the Portland store, and I can’t wait to see Caleb’s face when he opens it on Christmas Eve!

the dishes are for serving company, but for now they hold pretty ornaments…

I love having deep windowsills! I put the nativity creche collection there, this year. I think i have mentioned how crazy-picky I am about these. They must be simple, preferably vintage and/or carved from wood in order to come home with me. I haven’t found one that met that criteria (yet), this year!

It meets the simple criteria and is my FAVORITE, the Willow Tree set…

in the kitchen…

above the stove…

I love vintage holiday “junque” and amassed it all on top of the dining room mirror-this is the left side-

…and the right…!

the cover comes off of the Kitchenaid, since its festive and RED and besides, it gets more use this month than at any other time!

Found this at the Hallmark store while we were in Portland at Thanksgiving. I hesitated, because I really try and keep the budget to other peoples gifts…but it was the LAST ONE and if you read a plate? and it makes you get all teary-eyed? It’s NOT (only) hormones!  It says:

In this kitchen…we do sprinkles…we do sharing…we do double batches…we do (real) butter…we do flour fights…we do holidays…

we do love.

(sniff. sniff. that’s all just so TRUE of my kitchen/philosophy!)

I am really excited about this addition…I put up a little Mama Tree, just for the kitchen! I have saved vintage cookie cutters, wooden handled utensils, a milk cap or two and my yearly Starbucks ornaments, all for this fun little tree. A bright plaid dishtowel makes a perfect skirt

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to corners of our home, at Christmas

  1. Susan says:

    So cute Brenda! I need you to come over and help me. My house is such a mismatched hodgepodge of Christmas junk. I have no cohesive style whatsoever. You have plenty of time right? Maybe next year! 😉

  2. Anne says:

    Ahhhh…now it seems like Christmas. The idea of a Christmas themed quilt hanging up in there is really interesting! I bet it would look fantastic. I’ll keep my eye out, though I don’t think I come across many quilts, but you never know!

Leave a Reply

