gingerbread architects

While their big brother is away, and school is on hold and the rain keeps falling…Sam and Caleb are antsy. Antsy is a nice way of saying “Bored but moving constantly.”

Sometimes it is painfully obvious that I have 11, 13 and 15-year-old BOYS, not preschoolers anymore. A lot of our traditions they have outgrown.

We used to read a special Christmas book every night, and I MISS my 3 little boys in matching footsie pajamas all curled around me on the couch, one of them a proud new reader, lisping along with my words…

They groan at singing Christmas carols all together, but at least they still like Christmas music playing on Cds all day…

No one wants to watch Rudolph and Dad had to forbid making fun of Mom’s favorite movie, “It’s a Wonderful Life” (which they insist they don’t like but EVERYone of them cannot help but watch, so Ha! Frank Capra was a genius, I tell you.)

The Play-mobil Nativity set that they adored and re-arranged for YEARS was packed up and given to friends, and chocolate advent calendars are a yawn…

They don’t EVER want to make ornaments out of yarn or clay or construction paper anymore. I didn’t think the kindergarten additions to the tree would be this precious to me until they moved out? but I put them on branches reverently, already… 

so I was stunned when they asked to build a gingerbread house this year!

I know, I know hungry adolescent boys who want to play with candy and frosting?–it was a shock, I tell you.

…and as they created, there was “Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer” playing softly in the background…and my sweet boys happily licking frosting off their fingers…and a Christmas miracle unfolding right there in my kitchen…

…I had a sudden, joyful feeling…

Like old Ebenezer throwing open his window to a fresh day, I realized…

It’s not too late!

There are still memories to be made!

I still have sweet and innocent children at home!

and then…

Sam made his marshmallow snowman into a Zombie.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to gingerbread architects

  1. Chris says:

    hilarious! I can’t wait to see how it turns out 🙂

  2. Aunty Hilary says:

    You are sooo cute Brenda. I gotta tell you. I was worried about the Gingerbread house idea.

  3. Claudia says:

    Do you think MAYBE you could have picked a more appropriate song to be playing in the background. I know I can be sensitive at times but really? Grandma got run over by a reindeer? Really?
    🙂 Love ya

  4. kelli says:

    This is just fantastic! 🙂 and the snow man zombie? a total classic I tell you!! it should be framed and hung each and every year 🙂

  5. Susan says:

    That’s it, I know realize that I don’t have enough lights on my tree!

Leave a Reply

