Just Do It. most brilliant slogan ever.

Ever since I ran the Nike San Francisco Half-Marathon with Team in Training (in Oct. of 2009) I have debated long and hard about this hobby.

Am I a runner? if it’s sporadic and slow?

Do I even like running? then where is the supposed high?

Do I want to run a full marathon some day? why? just because other people do?

Do I even like competing in real races? or am I comfortable with just my quiet 4 mile loop?

Can I say “ok, I did it.” and leave that 13.1 miles as a big item I can cross off my bucket list?

and soooo…after a long break from running (where my thyroid got medicated and my adrenal glands healed and exhaustion stopped being the day-to-day reality of my life!) came back to running a bit. and kind of liked it enough to start having these conversations ad nauseum, with my closest friends and patient husband. What do they think? What advice do they give?

That I should do what makes me happy. and not kill myself with the effort.

but see? That’s my trouble. Running is painful and hard and I’m not a natural athlete and have short little legs and I’m a busy homeschooling Mama with a high schooler, a junior higher, an elementary student and I REALLY don’t have ANY extra time for it.

but.

there is this:

 

I kind of love it.

I love the curves in our rural road and being outside in the crisp morning.

I love being by myself and away from my kids for a bit during daily runs.

I love the crowded anticipation of all the people on race day, before the gun goes off.

I love the challenge. and oh how I love passing people!

I love beating my previous time, even by just a few seconds.

I even love sweating.

I guess? I kind of love running!

however, for an “excuse” to get out there more frequently, I need both a deadline and real incentive. Life just gets too crowded and I push myself to the bottom of the to-do list, everytime, so….

Yesterday, John gave me an early Christmas present and let me register for the Eugene Half-Marathon on May 1st!!

I am going to run it and I am going to beat my San Francisco time. 

If you are local, please know I welcome training buddies for Sat long runs and/or the race!

If you are friends/family far away, please know we’d love you to come stay with us that weekend to cheer me on (or join me!)

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Do It. most brilliant slogan ever.

  1. Brian says:

    Go get those turnip heads!

Leave a Reply

