Multitude Monday 2/7/11

What I am thanking God for, today:

Ann Voskamp’s book “A Thousand Gifts”

green grass and baby skipping lambs in the fields, in February. I love where we live!

Josiah’s quiet, shy pride at passing his driving permit exam with only 2 questions missed.

the softness of vellux blankets.

how the sky this morning was like warm vanilla, all yellow and silky.

finding old pictures on the camera.

the smell of lilacs, even if it’s just a fat candle burning and not actual blooms (yet).

acapella hymns.

spotting a Volkswagon Beetle before John or the boys and getting to punch ’em! ha!

2 new chickens (no, not in the freezer–live hens, in the veg garden!)

re-arranging the living room. and Josiah’s room. and our room. It’s a new year!

the Norkenzie Church Womens Retreat, and learning from sweet fellowship. 

sharing my heart and feeling my Lord’s unwavering support of His trembling child.

The boys are all healthy-that was a LONG, bad flu virus and I am grateful it is OVER!

green, baby fern in a glass cloche. a bit of spring and LIFE, on our coffee table.

so many good friends in my life! How did I get SO blessed?!

playing facebook scrabble with John, for a backrub and bragging rights. I love that man.

the last 1/4 mile of a long run, where I see our red mailbox and pour out every last bit of my flagging energy on a full-out sprint…I love being DONE with a run!

Taking our pop cans and oatmeal muffins to the local homeless guys, and how they say “bless you, bless you”, over and over, and I know God hears them.

and how Caleb suggested with great practicality, that we make them hardtack, instead of muffins, next time…and when I say no, he then gives me all the history on how hardtack sustained Civil War soldiers, etc. Love that weird little homeschooled kid…

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in 1000 Gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multitude Monday 2/7/11

  1. Brian says:

    Congratulations Josiah! I’m totally going to take you out for a REAL driving lesson next time I come over! We’re going see how muddy we can get my Toyota…
    Diane made some hardtack for us last time we saw her and that stuff is nasty! I guess Dad loves it.

Leave a Reply

