He’s on the road.

I love that my wonderful in-laws live so close to us.

I love that Lee is retired and free to stop by several times a week, just to say hello or drop something off or help our family out, with the latest project.

The latest project isn’t re-wiring a new ceiling light (he’s done that-3 different times) shelves above the washer (he did that, too) or building a pantry (oh how I love that man) or tidying up the garage (yup) or even weed-whipping an acre of tall grass, (because when John works overtime building the Indoor Soccer at the Sportsplex, his Dad can’t help but notice those little tasks at home that get neglected. And so, in his steadfast love he never says anything to rebuke his son, but faithfully, quietly, steps in to help.)

no…the latest project is a little more fun than all of those…He came over Monday to help his grandsons “project” of learning how to drive!

The little silver Toyota, that used to be driven by Josiah’s great-grandparents, Grandpa Lee was kind enough to give to Josiah a year ago, in anticipation of this day. (and yes. Mom’s been “test-driving” it for him. That old Suburban gets about 8 miles to the gallon!)

Josiah earned his permit on Friday, and sweet Grandpa–knowing that John often doesn’t get home until after dark–has promised to help his oldest grandchild get more than a few of those required 50 hours, behind the wheel…

This is one of those tasks that would surely give me hives, and likely have me pushing my foot through the floorboard, searching for that imaginary passenger side brake. 

Since I’ve been homeschooling now for over ten years, I am beyond grateful not to have to teach ONE MORE THING. Although, because of my, shall we say, “checkered driving history”, it has been made clear (since they were toddlers!) that I am NOT the first choice for instruction in this particular subject. John is clearly the parent most qualified for such a job and the facts are stacked so high against me, that, even if I wanted to, I could not argue different. He has copies of speeding tickets, and receipts from mechanics and photos from auto body shops, and what can I say? I drive like my Grandma Delores! Though I haven’t hit the gas instead of the brake and plowed through the front window of the Post Office. yet.

So Dad and Grandpa are teaching their oh-so-attentive and enthusiastic student. And I will have the job of Cheerleader, happy to snap the camera and pat his back, and sit back and just enjoy this new phase of our lives. I am so glad Lee and Claudia moved here, and that Lee is able to participate in this exciting time of Josiah growing up. Driving is such a milestone. It is one-giant-step-closer to him being grown up, and independent, and moving out.

Cheerleading THAT isn’t going to be easy, but luckily

I am a better actress, than I am a driver.

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in family, son-shine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He’s on the road.

  1. Brian says:

    AWESOME… Welcome to freedom Josiah!

Leave a Reply

