running thoughts

I have run 123.6 miles since December!

The Half-Marathon is May 1st, and I am a little more than half ready. (grin)

My longest run has been just over eight miles and I felt pretty good–

 (note to John-please don’t tell them how I broke down sobbing in the kitchen about the race being another 5 miles above that, okay?)

This training is so much better, so much easier than it was for my first Half Marathon in 2009. My thyroid levels were so low then, and I realize now just how unhealthy I was and am stunned that I was able to complete it at all-God gets all the glory for THAT. i begged Him to help me keep that commitment, and He did. but it was hard enough that I walked away from running (limped away, is more accurate) for over a year, as my mind/body healed up. It is so exciting to me to be BACK! I feel like when you find something precious to you, that until that moment you din’t even realize it was lost. Do you know what I mean?

This time, I am 10 plus lbs lighter than when I ran in San Francisco (and still working on lightening the pack further) and thanks to Boot Camp at the Sportsplex my muscles/core are stronger than previously ( I am adding strength training to my running to help further) so…

No shin splints! hooray! and no plantar fascitis! and my knees feel great, I don’t need to ice them after every 5 miler. Best part is that I actually have energy to run-now that my thyroid is medicated daily, there is no falling over in exhaustion by 2 pm. Running would have to be given up, if it stole all the energy/strength my husband and kids deserve first.

I am reading a very inspiring book “Run Like a Mother” and it is all kinds of stories/advice from other Moms who incorporate this hobby with full lives, raising kids. Reading it, I feel a little guilt that I have it so easy–no toddlers to push in a stroller, no convoluted babysitting plans in order to squeeze in a workout. I have strapping young men who are pretty responsible and I can say  “Back in an hour boys, do your schoolwork.” and know that if the house catches fire, Grandpa Lee is 2 minutes away. Although I am coming to the sport late in life (and thus, will never know how fast or strong I would’ve been in my twenties so, bonus! will have nothing to compare myself to and cry over) I am at a season in life where it isn’t too difficult to get a run in.

( only have to overcome my own procrastination of pain.)

I love that it is warmer outside, now! Seeing robins and even a bluebird, a little less wind/rain, fields are greening up even more-it is wonderful. The climate of our area is perfect for this hobby. The last 2 runs I was even too hot, which was a wonderful change…it means that now, all my long sleeve tech shirts and long black tights are being packed up until next Winter. As long as it is above 45 or so, capris and t-shirt are good. Still wear a vest though, love having at least one pocket for kleenex and an energy shot.

I noticed my mantra today! I just realized how I breathe it overandover as I am going up an incline or fighting pain and it is:

“all things. ALL things. ALL THINGS!”

and that is short for “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” the Bible verse that got me through the first round of training. It just got condensed to a breath-prayer that I chant to myself as my quads are screaming “we can’t!”and my burning lungs are saying “we need to stop!” and my mind answers back the truth:even THIS. All means ALL!!

The promise was for strength. not from within me, but from a Source much bigger and stronger than my feeble willpower-and His promise was for ALL THINGS.

even for:

middle-aged housewives who want to run up little neighborhood hills!

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in exercise. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to running thoughts

  1. Brian says:

    Wow. I’m impressed. A little bit inspired even. Maybe I will take a run tomorrow, I’ve been thinking about it long enough…

  2. Faye says:

    Good for you!!!

Leave a Reply

