update

wordpress has been a stinker and the last 2 posts didn’t work. I will give it another try though because the peanut gallery has been throwing things at the blank, dark stage here…

let’s see. what’s going on with us?

1. The Half-marathon training is finally over! For those of you not on Facebook to get the 1500 updates on that day, it was May 1st. I finished in my goal, of 2.5 hours. I tweaked my hip somehow and ran the last 2 miles, crying silent but constant tears from the pain but I DID IT. Pictures to come!

2. I have thrashed our yard. I’ve been busy opening it up, and taking out fences and hedges and posts and planters and really simplifying. Like de-cluttering your house or losing weight, simplifying takes an awful lot of work at first. But I like the direction it’s headed in. Pictures to come!

3. Caleb took his 5th grade test today, to meet State requirements. I didn’t do any test prep with him, or go over the years lessons at all, because I wanted to see exactly where he was and not skew the results at all, even accidentally. So all he got this morning was a reminder to take his time, and a hearty breakfast. Basically I threw him in the deep end, to see if he could swim. And when his test results came back 2 hours later? I’ve been grinning all day over my little Michael Phelps.

4. Speaking of school, I am deciding what to do for next year. With Caleb starting Middle School, Sam finishing it, and Josiah having only 2 years left in High School I am re-evaluating EVERYTHING. I want to make sure we are on a good course and finish strong! God hasn’t released His calling on us to homeschool these boys, so I am studying curriculums and praying for clear guidance. It recently hit me the specific Domino affect my homeschool choices will avail : That, if they don’t do well academically–then they won’t get good jobs or get into college–meaning then they cannot afford to ever move out–much less, get married–which means I will still be cleaning up after male offspring well into my 50s, and worse yet, I will not get passels of grandchildren. So we are cracking books HARD, next year! haha!

5. Our cat, Zuzu, currently has “songbird fever” which is a malaise of unknown origin. The vet suspects she ate a bad bird, or mouse or etc.  $$ we need for curriculum is spent on a silly animal and yet I don’t care–I absolutely love this cat. Whatever price they asked for the antibiotics she needed, I would’ve scraped up somewhere.

6. I want to change this blog format and design, because it’s so boring. But if I can hardly get time to POST, it’s not going to happen anytime soon!

7. Iphones are like babies. Everyone raves about them, but until you get one yourself, you can’t understand just how amazing and life-changing they really are. An Iphone was my early Mothers Day gift from John, and I’ve had a lot of fun with it this last week. However, I am all thumbs when it comes to texting-terrible, really really terrible and slow. Can an old dog really learn new tricks? I am afraid my pretty french nails may have to go, in order to type, and that’s going to be a hard sacrifice to make–I do so like my girly nails.

8. Yesterday I cared for a good friends children, and we had so much fun…a tea party, and watercolor painting, and playing together and I was struck by how I just adore these four kids. Partly because I’ve known them 5 years and watched them grow up but mainly because I so love my friend, that I cannot help but love her children. Then, that evening, we went to another friends home and listened to her son give a piano recital. As I watched her boy, so newly tall and deep-voiced, play so beautifully, I was almost in tears. Partly because he did so well, but mostly because I was so happy for her, knowing how she must be feeling such amazed pride (and totally justified!) pride at the way her only child was growing into such a fine young man. And it struck me how, because I love and treasure these women, therefore I can’t help but love and treasure their kids…and how it ought to be that way! For, if we love God, we cannot help but to love His kids. and yet so often, it isn’t true and some Christians can be so harsh, so self-righteous. It breaks my heart to see “believers” be some of the coldest, most judgmental people on earth. Isn’t this what Jesus meant when He said to Peter three times “do you love Me? Then, feed my sheep.” and elsewhere, when John said “and they will know we are Christians by our LOVE.”

9. We are doing respite foster care for the rest of May, for a toddler girl whom we adore. My adoring her doesn’t mean that I’ve forgotten how time-consuming a preschooler is! Since she comes on Friday morning,  I am spending the rest of this week racing around doing all the tasks on my To Do list that require more than 30 minutes of undivided attention. And, if there aren’t any blog posts until June, you’ll know why, right?

About sparrowjourney

Christian homeschooling mom to three boys, married to my best friend, John, for over 20 years. I love gardening without gloves, learning history with my kids, cooking with lots of butter, serving others, great books, rich coffee, studying the Bible, camping outdoors, scrapbooking, vintage home decor, the smell of rain and cut grass, authentic people, poetry, laughing until your sides hurt, and babies. oh and black licorice is pretty awesome.
This entry was posted in daily life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to update

  1. Susan says:

    Ditto on loving those children! They did well today and after a slightly rough start in the morning the littlest did fine. He perked up and maybe getting better from the bug he has.

Leave a Reply

