lately…

What have we been up to? 5 days of silence! (my apologies to my Mom and Sherri, the most faithful readers. Does it help to know you are who I always think of when I realize it’s been a few days!)

I took Lucy to the vet hospital this morning, she’ll enjoy deluxe overnight accommodations as they take away her lady parts. We don’t plan to breed her, don’t want male dogs coming around a courtin’, and selfishly hope the Spay treatment will also help her calm down just a tad, so her training will be easier.

The Grandparents found a great little house, just a mile or so away. My Uncle was in charge of that subdivision when they first built it six years ago, so we are all glad to KNOW they are getting a quality home. In a few weeks we will be glad to help with the painting/carpeting. In the meantime we will continue to enjoy our time together as driveway neighbors…


I am digging out a circular slab in front of our main entry (thanks Faye! You suggested it 6 months ago and I never forgot) The plan is flagstone pavers to soften the sharp square look of the entry but most importantly, I need it to slow down the rocks/dirt (that with the oncoming rain will soon be rocks/mud). I hate how it gets all over my pretty slate tile and then quickly tracked into the house. But I kept putting it off because my shovel wouldn’t even DENT the area. It took the heavy Maddox to break up that driveway, it was like cement! I worked for 2 days and got 18 inches cleared and a crippling backache as my bonus prize.

John works out everyday, did you know that? Cardio, tennis AND lifting weights (there are benefits to managing a Fitness Club) and that regimen has helped him drop almost 60 lbs. And while I appreciate how great his biceps LOOK, I was even more appreciative of how well they WORK. He didn’t really think we needed an entryway, but he took pity on his weary wife. He picked up that ax and broke up the rest of the ground like it was just a spoon going into mashed ‘taters.
As a bonus we had several wheelbarrows full of fresh gravel to fill the potholes in the driveway. Luckily all our visitors have substantial cars. Because we had one area where a Prius may have easily have gotten lost.
We also went to the Childrens Science Factory last week. If you live in the area, it’s a new exhibit called “Wild Weather” and very good. There are no crowds on Thursday afternoons either, we had the place mostly to ourselves!
Do you think NASA would take Caleb?

Sam loves the hands-on displays. He is such a kinesthetic learner, this is right up his alley!

On that note, we are getting in lots of daily school. Still plugging away at the American Revolution. The HBO DVD series on John Adams is SO good, you have to see it. We rented it at the local video store. Be warned, we are only 3 episodes in (and there is some nudity when a man is stripped, tarred and feathered, by a mob) I cried when they signed the Declaration but none of the kids laughed at me, for they were taking it pretty seriously, also. Even John liked it, and documentaries are never his first entertainment choice.
We have been getting online for a research lately, and I will share a few of the great things we have found…

http://www.pbs.org/benfranklin/explore.html This PBS site had a lot of interesting hands-on activities about Ben Franklin. He has been a favorite character in our studies. The kids loved the book “Ben And Me” by Robert Lawson. Did you know he never put a patent, or made money, on his inventions-such as the woodstove? He was more concerned that people be warm and safe than that he make a financial profit. How many would do the same, today?

Surprisingly, we have found some great things on youtube, of all places. When we studied the flag, this video by Michael W Smith, really drove the point home:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pe1PfZ0IqVY&feature=related

We have also been reading inspirational stories on famous hymn writers. Right now we are learning about Horatio Spafford, who wrote “It is Well With My Soul”. Since I sing profusely, yet terribly, I was stuck. How could the boys appreciate the songs’ beauty if I sang it to them and butchered it? Youtube to the rescue! Even if you aren’t studying this, it’s a wonderfully inspiring video to watch:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8_EfDqF7YI

This is a site Josiah has been enjoying. http://teenlitreview.blogspot.com/ He finds lots of books during his volunteer work at the Library. He writes the titles down, we check the reviews and then he knows if it is worth reading.

And today is my first niece Ashlie’s 13th birthday!

Sweet Ashlie,

You have ALWAYS BEEN one of the prettiest, smartest, kindest, little girls God created. When you were born I was SO happy to be your Aunt Birdie. Now, as you grow into a young woman, I hope you deep-down-to-your-toes know that this same God who gave you life has a very special plan for your life. I can’t wait to see how it unfolds and just what it will be! May your day be full of fun and laughter and surprises. I just wish I was there to love on you in person! But I know what teenagers need the most…LOVE and CASH, right? So watch the mail, some of both is on the way to you…Love always, Aunt B

Leave a comment